21st Century Life, Travel

The inevitable question…

Here is THE question: do I, freelancer that I am, go back home and move back to super duper London; or do I, travel bug infested human being, go back on the road?

This is, or should be, a very easy question. But I’m in a good place right now in Europe. Except when I log into Facebook and see that all my mates are in places I love. Bali, Hawai’i, NZ, Oz… Damn.

The fact that I have a non-office-bound job should make the decision easier. But it’s not. There are many concerns I could raise, such as the fact that on the road, a reliable Internet connection isn’t necessarily a given. It could, however, all be dismissed as nothing but excuses.

If you’re reading this, chances are you are in the same boat. You might feel like moving on, going out to explore the world, but can’t really make the non-return decision.

To me, the most important issue is that even though I am in Europe, I am not where I want to be. And so two decisions I need to make clash. Ultimately, I wish I could be everywhere at once.

Whilst writing this, I find that there are solutions. I could, go home for a couple of months, get back into the UK life long enough that I “get my fix,” before ditching it all again to fly off to warmer shores. It would allow me to NOT make a decision. Decisions mean that as we choose a path, we discard others. The spoilt little brat in me wants EVERYTHING! No way am I not doing something. So we’re back to the “what to do” question that keeps me up at night. How to do everything, not miss out, and still be a responsible adult.

In other words, the real question isn’t so much what to do but how to do it. Logistics are a pain in the bottom.

And yes, for me it’s “should I do it all again”, whist you might be wondering whether you should make the life-changing decision to leave for the first time.

And here we are. Prospecting, getting rid of things, packing, booking… Unfortunately (for me), whether it’s the first time or the hundreds, the same steps must be taken, the same arrangements made. I just have the chance to know how easy it is to just up and leave. Wouldn’t it be great to do it once and then just be “ready”?

The good news is that there is time, even if it doesn’t feel like it. Important decisions, when they are riddled with questions, shouldn’t be made in a rush. I was in the perfect place and time when I decided to leave last time. No questions asked. It was quick and painless. This time it’s different.

There are many things to consider, so many factors to reckon with.

To make my life (and yours) easier, let’s formulate the question differently.

What will we regret? Not having had the awesome job that led to fame and fortune (haha, as if), or having missed out on exploring the world and meeting awesome people?

If we take into account that we might be run over by a bus tomorrow (people can’t drive nowadays), would we rather it was somewhere new and exciting or on our way back from the office?

Actually, it’s not so hard a choice now, is it?

Leave a Reply

