21st Century Life

The art of spontaneity

I plead guilty! I do, more often than not, think things through for hours, if not days, before taking a decision.

Now, to be fair, this is something I do for BIG decisions: a one-way ticket to the other side of the world? A job opportunity? I’ll be thinking and analysing both to death.

Obviously, the more I ponder something, the less likely it is I’m going to do it.

So when I woke up today with an itch to buy flights to Korea, I bought them. I ate before, but otherwise, that was pretty much the first thing I did. And of course, I don’t regret it.

The same happens, always, for Eurostar tickets, or for super exciting job offers. I just do it.

The problems arise when there is too much to consider: be it admin, money, or, ultimately, real desire.

It would be great to… but really, do I want to do it bad enough that I’ll take the plunge and figure it out later? If the answer’s no, chances are, it’s best to just pass the opportunity.

So, I’m popping by London for a week of shenanigans, before flying off to Seoul, and I can’t wait! It’s probably changed loads since the last time I was there (about 5 years ago!), but it’s an adventure!

In life, it turns out, spontaneity is key: if you don’t need to think about it, or if it never occurred to you to figure things out beforehand, it should ALWAYS be a go (unless you’re so drunk you can barely stand, let alone think. In which case: sleep it off first).

Leave a Reply

